Skip navigation

Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: Sąd Konstytucyjny Węgier
Authors: Kubas, Sebastian
Keywords: Sąd Konstytucyjny; Węgry; wymiar sądownictwa konstytucyjnego w praktyce działania; konflikt pomiędzy Sądem Konstytucyjnym a rządem Viktora Orbana po 2010 roku; the Constitutional Court; Hungary; the practical aspect of the constitutional judiciary; the conflict between the Constitutional Court and Viktor Orbán’s cabinet after 2010
Issue Date: 2015
Publisher: Wydawnictwo Uniwersytetu Śląskiego
Citation: M. Barański, A. Czyż, R. Rajczyk (red.), "Sądownictwo konstytucyjne w państwach Grupy Wyszehradzkiej : perspektywa politologiczno-prawna" (S. 76-94). Katowice : Wydawnictwo Uniwersytetu Śląskiego
Abstract: The Constitutional Court of Hungary was established in 1989, which was a time of great political, economic, and social changes. During the first years of its functioning, the Court was to be comprised of fifteen justices; however, the bench remained incomplete until 1994. The difficulties in the appointment of justices were connected with the fact that the political parties represented in the Parliament were obligated to come to a consensus, which proved to be problematic. In 1994, the number of justices in the Constitutional Court of Hungary was reduced to eleven. The first chairman of the Constitutional Court was László Sólyom, who was later elected President. In 2010, after Fidesz won the parliamentary election, the process of appointing justices was simplified and a rule was instituted which dictated that it was the winning party who would decide the majority of the appointments. The legal base for the activity of the Constitutional Court can be found both in the Constitution as well as the appropriate statute. The Fundamental Law of Hungary, passed in 2011 (i.e. the Constitution of Hungary) acknowledges that the Constitutional Court’s purview includes first and foremost the analysis of conformity of the legislative acts. On the other hand, the current Act on the Constitutional Court was passed on November 14th, 2011, and it contains the detailed description regarding the structure and functioning of the Constitutional Court. According to the Act, the Constitutional Court consists of fifteen justices appointed for twelve years by the National Assembly. In the light of the current events, the chapter emphasises the relationship between the Constitutional Court and Viktor Orbán’s cabinet, as the latter has restricted the purview of the Constitutional Court several times, a move which was highly criticised both in Hungary and rest of Europe.
ISBN: 9788380126251
ISSN: 9878380126268
Appears in Collections:Książki/rozdziały (WNS)

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
Kubas_Sad_Konstytucyjny_Wegier.pdf363,29 kBAdobe PDFView/Open
Show full item record

Uznanie autorstwa - użycie niekomercyjne, bez utworów zależnych 3.0 Polska Creative Commons License Creative Commons